Slave Lake Book Auction

This idea literally came about five minutes ago. I was sitting at my computer, procrastinating on Twitter when I realized that I had been seeing a lot about online auctions to help those who were devastated by the recent tornadoes in the States. And I realized I didn’t remember seeing anything about Slave Lake.  I poked around online, hit google and nothing.

Now, I could have said “How sad” and left it at that. But I didn’t. I couldn’t. So here I am, organizing an online auction for Slave Lake. I’m hoping to get a variety of books, critiques and bookish things donated.

For those of you who have no idea what I’m talking about, Slave Lake was basically leveled early Monday morning by wild fires. At least 40% of the town was gone in a matter of hours. 433 properties were lost.

I know that The Peace Library System is taking book donations and there are other benefits taking place, but I wanted to do something bookish.

If you’d like to donate something, please email me at colleenmckie (at) eastlink (dot) ca. And please spread the word. The more exposure, the more money raised.

And stay tuned. I’m hoping to have the auction up and running in a few days. And the site should get pretty, too. :0)

5 Comments

Filed under Auction

5 responses to “Slave Lake Book Auction

  1. MartinaCK

    This is great! Let me know if there is anything I can do 🙂

  2. Happy to donate a signed copy of THe day the Fall Stood Still. Lovely initiative.

    Cathy

  3. I’ll donate a signed copy of Cat City, Colleen! Great initiative.

  4. Pingback: Slave Lake Book Auction: An Open Letter To Authors

  5. Pingback: The Sisters Brothers, Patrick deWitt #50BookPledge | Literary Treats