Auction #14 Signed copy of Practical Jean by Trevor Cole

I haven’t had a chance to read this yet, but I’ve been hearing delicious things about it.

Book description:

This eagerly awaited new novel from Trevor Cole combines the humour and sharp observations of contemporary life that he is known for with an irresistibly twisted premise, for fans of the quirkily macabre Six Feet Underand Dexter, and readers of Paul Quarrington, Miriam Toews, Jonathan Franzen, and, of course, Trevor Cole.

In his first two, GG-shortlisted novels, Trevor Cole proved himself a master of drawing us into the shadowy side of human nature with sharp observation and warm wit. In Practical Jean, he goes a step further: this is a darkly humourous and revelatory tale of an ordinary, small-town woman with the usual challenges of middle age — a do-nothing husband, a family that refuses to understand her — who realizes her fondest wish is to protect her dearest friends from the indignities of aging and illness. And that’s when she decides to kill them . . .

Thanks so much to Trevor for the donation: http://www.trevorcole.com

  • This auction will run from today until 11:59 pm Est June 5th and is open to North America.
  • All bids will be in Canadian funds.
  • Bids must increase by at least a dollar.
25 Comments

Filed under Signed book

25 responses to “Auction #14 Signed copy of Practical Jean by Trevor Cole

  1. Want this one! Starting off at $25.

  2. Sharon Kamperman

    $26

  3. Oh I do love a contest! $30.

  4. Janice MacDonald

    Ooh, yes, my copy is on my Kindle, which is dreadfully hard to loan or have autographed…$32

  5. Sharon Kamperman

    $35 🙂

  6. Carmel Purkis

    I’ve already bought two copies of this book (one for me & one as a gift) so I’ll bid on another, but just thought I’d comment that this book is GOOD. Dark, oh so dark, and very good.

  7. On your recce CArmel I will go to $40

  8. Oh shoot she didn’t actually bid, did she, so I just out bid myself.
    I am just blinded in the excitement of the chase…

  9. I’ll chime in at $50 to keep the ball rolling. Jean is worth every cent.

  10. Susan Walsh

    $60.00

    good cause

  11. Jean’s not only practical, but also this year’s Leacock medal winner. Fine satire. I’m in for $70.

  12. Holy shit! I really wish I could take it further. I’m sorry, but I can’t. Go Janet! And WOW, go Trevor!!

  13. Kevin Speicher

    $80

  14. The gauntlet’s down. Thanks, Kevin Speicher. $85. Your move. Jean’s wicked, naughty fun.

  15. Kevin Speicher

    $100 (and I’ll buy Trevor a drink when he delivers the book.)

  16. Kevin Speicher

    (I’m counting my chips and peering at you through my cheap sunglasses.)

  17. I repeat, all in at $125. And, Trevor can bring me a kir royale when he delivers the book.

  18. Kevin Speicher

    I’ll match Janet Somerville’s $125 for a second signed copy of Mr. Cole’s award winning book.

  19. Trevor Cole

    You guys are amazing!

  20. I am perhaps ready to admit defeat on this one. Unless Trevor is goinng to donate a 3rd?