Auction #15 Signed copy of Far to Go by Alison Pick

Another book added to my wish-list! Far to Go had a lot of buzz around it and has won the 2011 Helen and Stan Vine Canadian Jewish Book Award for fiction.

Book description

When Czechoslovakia relinquishes the Sudetenland to Hitler, the powerful influence of Nazi propaganda sweeps through towns and villages like a sinister vanguard of the Reich’s advancing army. A fiercely patriotic secular Jew, Pavel Bauer is helpless to prevent his world from unraveling as first his government, then his business partners, then his neighbors turn their back on his affluent, once-beloved family. Only the Bauers’ adoring governess, Marta, sticks by Pavel, his wife, Anneliese, and their little son, Pepik, bound by her deep affection for her employers and friends. But when Marta learns of their impending betrayal at the hands of her lover, Ernst, Pavel’s best friend, she is paralyzed by her own fear of discovery—even as the endangered family for whom she cares so deeply struggles with the most difficult decision of their lives.

Interwoven with a present-day narrative that gradually reveals the fate of the Bauer family during and after the war, Far to Go is a riveting family epic, love story, and psychological drama.

Thanks bunches to Alison for the book donation. http://www.alisonpick.com/

  • This auction will run from today until 11:59 pm Est June 5th and is open to North America.
  • All bids will be in Canadian funds.
  • Bids must increase by at least a dollar.
16 Comments

Filed under Signed book

16 responses to “Auction #15 Signed copy of Far to Go by Alison Pick

  1. Oh – I want this one too! Let’s start at $20. Any challengers? 🙂

  2. Dawn Hunter

    $25 from me

  3. Dakota Saukel

    I’d like to bid $30 🙂

  4. Carmel Purkis

    O this one is good! $33!

  5. Jumping in at $35, mean

  6. Carmel Purkis

    o, I think $39 is a much better number.

  7. Oh dear – competitive book buying. I just realized this is a very dangerous activity given my personality. Plotting my next move …

  8. Sorry, Angie, since I haven’t yet bid on anything and haven’t yet read Far to Go, I’m going to bid $41. Another prime number (perhaps with less menace than 47, but…). 😉

  9. Ruth I haven’t read it yet either! I hate to do this to you but I will bid $43.

  10. Well then. I’m just going to have drag out the more menacing prime and bid $47. 😉

  11. Carmel Purkis

    It’s not a prime number, but I’ve always thought that $51 had a slightly fearsome tone, so I’ll up the bid to that!

  12. $51 is so a prime number. As is $53, my new bid. 😛

  13. Ahem. Carmel is right and I’ve just humiliated myself both here and on Twitter (who ever multiplies by 17? I certainly never do).

  14. Carmel Purkis

    Anyone who smirked at Ruth’s math skills ought to send an extra $10 to the Slave Lake Library fund! But now, just to give the multiplication table for 19 some face time, I’m upping my bid to $57.