Auction #50 Signed copy of The Birth House by Ami McKay

Loved, loved LOVED this book. And that’s all there is to say about that. Well except that it’s won some awards and been a Canada Reads finalist.

Book description:

The Birth House is the story of Dora Rare, the first daughter to be born in five generations of Rares. As a child in an isolated village in Nova Scotia, she is drawn to Miss Babineau, an outspoken Acadian midwife with a gift for healing. Dora becomes Miss B.’s apprentice, and together they help the women of Scots Bay through infertility, difficult labours, breech births, unwanted pregnancies and even unfulfilling sex lives. Filled with details as compelling as they are surprising, The Birth House is an unforgettable tale of the struggles women have faced to have control of their own bodies and to keep the best parts of tradition alive in the world of modern medicine.

Thanks so much to Ami for the donation. http://amimckay.com

  • This auction will run from today until 11:59 pm Est June 10th and is open internationally.
  • All bids will be in Canadian funds.
  • Bids must increase by at least a dollar.
9 Comments

Filed under Signed book

9 responses to “Auction #50 Signed copy of The Birth House by Ami McKay

  1. Ooohhhh one of my all-time favorite books! Only I already own it. But it’s not signed. *bites nails* I will watch this closely. But I’ll say $15 for now. Just to start 😀

  2. Treeleaning

    Hmmm… I also have a copy, but it’s lost. Well not really lost. It’s travelling. I’m thinking it may never come back to me. So, I know you’re watching Amymckie, $20.00 for signed copy.

  3. Colleen Easter

    $25

  4. Kirsten Dean

    $30

  5. Ohhh you people! $35 😀

  6. Nadine Simpson

    $40

  7. I’m almost too scared to outbid you because of that scary face!!! But I’m going to risk it this time 😉
    $45

  8. Kirsten Dean

    $50