Tag Archives: online

Auction #69 Signed copy of Ashes, Ashes by Jo Treggliari

A must-read for fans of The Hunger Games and YA dystopia. I read it last week and it freaking blew me away.

Book description:

An unbelievable tale of adventure and romance, in the face of the darkest of nightmares.

Smallpox epidemics, floods, droughts &mdasah; for sixteen-year-old Lucy, the end of the world came and went, taking 99% of the population with it. As the weather continues to rage out of control, and Sweepers clean the streets of plague victims, Lucy survives alone in the wilds of Central Park, hunting and foraging for food. But when she is rescued from a vicious pack of hunting dogs by a mysterious boy named Aidan, she reluctantly realizes she cannot continue on her own. She joins Aidan”s band of survivors, yet a new danger awaits her: The Sweepers are looking for her, and they”ve laid a trap. There”s something special about Lucy, and the Sweepers will stop at nothing to have her in their clutches.

Thanks so much to Jo for the donation: http://jotreggiari.com/

  • This auction will run from today until 11:59 pm Est June 12th and is open internationally.
  • All bids will be in Canadian funds.
  • Bids must increase by at least a dollar.
Advertisements

4 Comments

Filed under Signed book

Auction #53 Critique from Christie Harkin

Christie Harkin, editor at Children’s Books Fitzhenry & Whiteside, is offering an editorial critique. Christie will critique one picture book or a summary/proposal and up to 3 chapters of a novel (juvenile/YA) or a summary/proposal and up to 3 chapters of a non-fiction ms (again, juvenile/YA). This is a wicked opportunity for budding authors.

Here’s a list of Christie’s recent edits :

The Glory Wind (Valerie Sherrard)
The Listening Tree (Celia Lottridge)
Saving ARMPIT (Natalie Hyde)
Tooter’s Stinky Wish (Brian Cretney/Peggy Collins)
Kiss Me! I’m a Prince (Heather McLeod/Brooke Kerrigan)
Kazaak! (Sean Cassidy)
Highway of Heroes (Kathy Stinson)
Tim Horton: From Stanley Cups to Coffee Cups (Don Quinlan).

Thanks so, so much to Christie for this amazing donation: http://www.fitzhenry.ca/

  • This auction will run from today until 11:59 pm Est June 10th and is open internationally.
  • All bids will be in Canadian funds.
  • Bids must increase by at least a dollar.

4 Comments

Filed under Critique

Auction #30 YA book package from Sourcebooks

OMG guys! This is an AWESOME collection of KICK-ASS books. Seriously. If you are a fan of YA books then this is the auction for you.

*These books are not signed, but wicked nonetheless*

Here’s what’s included:

The Liar Society by Lisa and Laura Roecker (YA)

I’m Not Her by Janet Gurtler (YA)

The Undertakers by Ty Drago (middle grade)

Instructions for a Broken Heart by Kim Culbertson (YA)

Are You Going To Kiss Me Now? by Sloane Tanen (YA)

Haunted by Joy Preble (YA)

What did I tell you? AWE. SOME!  Thanks so much to Sourcebooks for the donation. http://www.sourcebooks.com/

  • This auction will run from today until 11:59 pm Est June 6th and is to North America.
  • All bids will be in Canadian funds.
  • Bids must increase by at least a dollar.

5 Comments

Filed under Signed book

Auction #29 Signed hardcover copy of The Innocent Man John Grisham

Now I know there has to be a few Grisham fans out there that would LOVE a signed copy of The Innocent Man, his first non-fict! Well, here’s your chance. 🙂

Book despcription:

In the town of Ada, Oklahoma, Ron Williamson was going to be the next Mickey Mantle. But on his way to the Big Leagues, Ron stumbled, his dreams broken by drinking, drugs, and women. Then, on a winter night in 1982, not far from Ron’s home, a young cocktail waitress named Debra Sue Carter was savagely murdered. The investigation led nowhere. Until, on the flimsiest evidence, it led to Ron Williamson. The washed-up small-town hero was charged, tried, and sentenced to death-in a trial littered with lying witnesses and tainted evidence that would shatter a man’s already broken life…and let a true killer go free. Impeccably researched, grippingly told, filled with eleventh-hour drama, John Grisham’s first work of nonfiction reads like a page-turning legal thriller. It is a book that will terrify anyone who believes in the presumption of innocence-a book no American can afford to miss. 

Thanks muchly to Random House for the donation. http://www.randomhouse.ca/

  • This auction will run from today until 11:59 pm Est June 6th and is open to Canada.
  • All bids will be in Canadian funds.
  • Bids must increase by at least a dollar.

3 Comments

Filed under Signed book